Meeting program

Sexual dimorphism in cancer

April 1-4 2020, Epalinges (Lausanne)

PROGRAM (preliminary draft, Nov 11 2919)

Apr. 1

1. RATIONALE FOR CONSIDERING SEX-DETERMINING FACTORS IN CANCER PREVENTION AND TREATMENT

14.15 Gian Paolo Dotto – Welcoming remarks

14.30 – 15. Sabine Oertelt-Prigione – Ongoing efforts in gender medicine

Professor of Gender in Primary and Transmural Care, Radboud University , Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Sabine.Oertelt-Prigione@radboudumc.nl) 

15- 15.30. Stuart Tobet – Sex, Gender, and sex steroids: What can brain sexual differentiation teach us about cancer biology?

Director, School of Biomedical Engineering, Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences (Stuart.Tobet@ColoState.EDU)

15.30 – 16. Valery Lemmens – sex differences in epidemiology of non-sex related cancers 

Scientific director of the Netherlands Cancer Registry (v.lemmens@iknl.nl )  

16 – 16.30. coffee break

16.30 – 17. Jaakko Kaprio – Twins, hormones and cancer risk factors

Professor of Genetic Epidemiology, Department of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine & Institute for Molecular Medicine FIMM, HiLIFE University of Helsinki (jaakko.kaprio@helsinki.fi)

17-17.15. Short Talk

17.15-17.30 – Short Talk

18.00 – 20  Social mixer and light dinner

Apr. 2

2. X AND Y CHROMOSOMES

9-9.30 – David Page – Y chromosome evolution

Director, Whitehead Institute (dcpage@wi.mit.edu)

9.30-10 – Robin.Lovell-Badge – genetic basis of sex determination
 head of the Laboratory of Stem Cell Biology and Developmental Genetics at the Francis Crick Institute

 (Robin.Lovell-Badge@crick.ac.uk)

10-10.15 – short talk

10.15-10.30 – short talk

10-30-11 break

11-11.30 – Laura Zannini – “Gender specificity in DNA damage response pathways”

Group leader, Institute of Molecular Genetics, National Research Council (IGM-CNR), Pavia, IT laura.zannini@igm.cnr.it

11.30-11.45- short talk

11.45-12- short talk

12-12.30 – Jeannie Lee – X chromosome silencing and biological impact

Professor of Genetics (Pathology), Harvard Medical School, Molecular Biologist, Massachusetts General Hospital (lee@molbio.mgh.harvard.edu)

12.30 – 14.30 Lunch

Apr. 2

14 .30-18.30pm

3. SEX HORMONES

14.30- 15 – Eva Estébanez-Perpina – AR structure/function

Group leader Institute of Biomedicine of the University of Barcelona (IBUB) (evaestebanez@ub.edu)

15-15.30 -Matti Poutanen: Role of local sex steroid synthesis and metabolism in hormonal carcinogenesis

Professor of Physiology, Institute of Biomedicine, University of Turku, Finland matpou@utu.fi

15.30-16 – Miguel Beato del Rosal : nuclear architecture and gene regulation

Group leader, Center for Genomic Regulation (CGR) Barcelona <miguel.beato@crg.eu>

16-16.30 Coffee Break

16.30-16.45– short talk

16.45-17 – short talk

17-17.30 – Luca Magnani : Finding Dory: hormone exposure, mutational signatures and estrogen receptor defines the early oncogenesis processes at play in the cell of origin of breast cancer

Group leader, Imperial College London   l.magnani@imperial.ac.uk

17.30-18 –  Barbara Demeneix : endocrine disruption and the neural stem cell compartment

          barbara.demeneix@mnhn.fr

6.00 -8 pm Poster session

8-10 pm Dinner

Apr 3

4.  SPECIFIC ORGAN AND CANCER TYPES (GENETIC / MOLECULAR STUDIES)

9-9.30 – Paul C. Boutros –  “The molecular epidemiology of somatic mutations: how does patient sex influence cancer evolution?”

Group leader, UCLA PBoutros@mednet.ucla.edu

9.30-10 – Cathrin Brisken – sex hormones in breast development and cancer

Group leader, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL) cathrin.brisken@epfl.ch

10-10.30 – Wilbert Zwart – sex hormones signaling in male breast cancer

Group leader, Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI)  w.zwart@nki.nl

10.30-11 coffee break

11-11.15 – short talk

11.15-11.30 – short talk

11.30 – 12 Todd Ridky – ER signaling and Melanoma

Group leader Department of Dermatology, U. Penn (ridky@pennmedicine.upenn.edu)

12 – 12.30 Soumitra Gosh / Min Ma AR signaling in skin cancer

UNIL, Department of Biochemistry

12.30 – 14.30 Lunch

14.30-15 – Alexandros Tzatsos – Pancreatic Cancer 

Group leader, School of Medicine and Health Science, George Washington University (atzatsos@email.gwu.edu)

15- 15.30 – Margaret Anne Knowles – Bladder Cancer

Head of Section of Molecular Oncology, Leeds Institute of Cancer Studies and Pathology (M.A.Knowles@leeds.ac.uk)

15.30-15.45 – short talk

15.45-16 – short talk

16-16.30 coffee break

16.30-17 – Irene Miguel-Aliaga – The sex of the intestine and why it matters

Genes and Metabolism Section Chair, MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, and Professor of Genetics and Physiology, Imperial College (i.miguel-aliaga@lms.mrc.ac.uk)

17-17.30 –  Joshua B. Rubin – Sex differences in glioblastoma Professor of Pediatrics, Hematology and Oncology, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis (rubin_j@wustl.edu)

17.30-17.45 – short talk

17.45-18 – short talk

18-20 poster session

20  Dinner

Apr 4

6.  IMMUNE SYSTEM, METABOLISM AND THE MICROBIOME

9-9.30 – Adriana Maggi – Gender differences in metabolism

Professor of Pharmacological Biotechnologies, University of Milan  (adriana.maggi@unimi.it)

9.30-10 – Aldons Jake Lusis –  “Gene-by-sex interactions regulating mitochondrial functions and cardio-metabolic traits”

10.00-10.30 break

7. FRONTIERS AND OPPORTUNITIES

10.30-11.00 – Anna Dorothea Wagner and Berna Ozdemir Toxicology, drug response and immune therapy CHUV 

11.00-11.30 – Allan Balmain  – genetic determinants of cancer susceptibility : a look to the future

Professor of Cancer Genetics, UCSF Allan.Balmain@ucsf.edu

11.30-12.00 – ICPI life time achievement cancer prevention award : Tony Howell

http://www.breastcentre.manchester.ac.uk/Research-Groups/Tony-Howell

12.00-12.15 Concluding remarks :  GP Dotto